June Recap

To appease my mom — from whose porch I’m now enjoying the endless Pennsylvania rain — here, finally, is an update on June. Not that she needs it, since she was around for most of what’s below!

She and my sister, Bird, took the train into the city a few weeks ago for their annual summer visit. We went to the World Trade Center memorial, strolled through Central Park while eating gelato from a Columbus Circle shop called Grom, and ate at Roberta’s, the trendy Bushwick pizzeria where a waitress famously served her final shift in nothing but ‘nets several months ago.

While they were here, we saw The Phantom of the Opera, the first Broadway musical I’ve seen. I’d read the novel one summer when I was in high school, and noticing some Bat Boy parallels as I watched the play brought to mind another novel I’d loved then, The Hunchback of Notre Dame. I haven’t thought about it in years, but I’m sure it had something to do with Bat Boy’s germination; I was such a Victor Hugo nut back then. I’ll have to reread it.

I also finished the afghan I’ve been working on!

I knit it in a grey acrylic yarn that has become incredibly soft with washing, though I’m worried the synthetic fiber might not hold up as well over time. I plan to knit another in the coming months, and will likely try a wool blend.

Work has passed in a blur of Supreme Court decisions recently. Although they weren’t all wonderful, at least the justices came down on the right side of DOMA and Prop 8. With the Roberts court, I’ll take what I can get.

More soon on my Fourth of July weekend, which I’m spending at my mom’s.

Stars, stripes & equal rights,
Kat

gay_pride_flag_kimiko_r_flags-32px

Leave a Reply

