Knot Again …

Lesson: If you’re going to wind a hank of yarn into a ball, make sure you have enough time to get it done in one go. Or you’ll end up with this:

Well, maybe you won’t, but I sure did. Luckily I’d bought two hanks of this hand-dyed merino yarn, so I was able to set aside that monstrosity aside for a time when I’m more mentally equipped to tackle it, and in the meanwhile wind the other PATIENTLY into a neat little center-pull ball.

Kumquat helped

Now I’m ready to get started on this cap-sleeve lattice top.

source: Purl Bee

source: Purl Bee

It’s my first sweater, and my first project in fingering-weight yarn, which is superfine, meaning the stitches will be smaller and the piece take longer to knit. It’s also my first time using nickel-plated needles, which are more slippery than the plastic ones I’ve been using, but supposedly faster. So I’m curious to see how long it’ll take me. And what kinds of new calluses my fingers will build.

Wish me luck!
Kat

Leave a Reply

